ANSWERS: 5
  • I'm pretty sure you have to hit the eight ball in as well as the other one to have you lose the game.
  • 4.19 PLAYING THE 8-BALL When the 8-ball is the legal object ball, a scratch or foul is not loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped from the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand. Note: A combination shot can never be used to legally pocket the 8-ball, except when the 8-ball is the first ball contacted in the shot sequence. 4.20 LOSS OF GAME A player loses the game by committing any of the following infractions: 1. Fouls when pocketing the 8-ball (exception: see 8-Ball Pocketed On The Break). 2. Pockets the 8-ball on the same stroke as the last of his group of balls. 3. Jumps the 8-ball off the table at any time. 4. Pockets the 8-ball in a pocket other than the one designated. 5. Pockets the 8-ball when it is not the legal object ball. http://www.bca-pool.com/play/tournaments/rules/rls_8bl.shtml So......if I am reading this correctly, the only way you can lose on a scratch is if the 8 ball goes into the designated pocket. I am so glad you asked this question. I can't wait for my friends to come over and play pool. :)
    • Linda Joy
      I didn't know you couldn't use a combination to sink the 8-ball without striking the 8-ball first.
  • You lose, you have to hit the eight ball regardless. You have to call it of course as well, you missed it means you lose, doesn't realy make any difference that you sank the white.
  • if I have the 8 ball left to shoot, an the other players ball surrounds the 8 ball, and i hit the other players ball not sinking it just hit it, do I lose?
  • Yep, that's 8ball scratch and lose.

Copyright 2018, Wired Ivy, LLC

Answerbag | Terms of Service | Privacy Policy