• Well, it depends. If you are an Ashkenazi Jew, no. If you are Sephardi, yes. That's because rice can be used as a flour to produce such things as rice cakes. Centuries ago, the rabbis felt that rice flour was too close to real flour and decreed that rice may not be used over Pesach- so people don't get confused and think that you can use all flour on Pesach. Sephardi Jews (i.e. living in North Africa and the Middle East 1000 years ago) never subscribed to this ban. The reason was simple: In their communities, rice was a staple food and it simply was not practical to ban it. And that difference of custom between Ashkenazis and Sephardis remains in place until today.
  • "Kitniyot, qit'niyyoth (Hebrew: קִטְנִיּוֹת ,קטניות , קיטניות‎) (literally little things) are a category of foods defined by Jewish law and tradition which Ashkenazi Jews (Jews from Eastern Europe, Germany, etc.) refrain from eating during the Biblical festival of Passover. The Torah (Exodus 13:3) prohibits Jews from eating leaven (chametz) during Passover. Technically, chametz is only leaven made from the "five grains": wheat, spelt, barley, shibbolet shu'al (two-rowed barley, according to Maimonides; oats according to Rashi) or rye, although there are additional rabbinic prohibitions against eating these grains in any form other than matzo. Among traditional Ashkenazi Jews, the custom during Passover is to refrain from not only products of the five grains but also kitniyot. Literally "small things," such as other grains and legumes. Traditions of what is considered kitniyot vary from community to community but generally include maize (North American corn), as well as rice, peas, lentils, and beans. Many also include peanuts in this prohibition, and one source, the Chayei Adam, also includes potatoes in his list, although his opinion is not followed by any large or major groups. Sephardi Jews typically do not observe the ban on kitniyot, albeit some groups do abstain from the use of dried pulses during Passover." Source and further information:
  • If you are a Ashkenazi Jew: eating rice, legumes, seeds and corn during Passover is prohibited. In my religious beliefs, you can eat all types of food during Passover. Matthew 15:3 "But He answered and said unto them, Why do ye also transgress the commandment of God by your tradition?" Matthew 15:11 "Not that which goeth into the mouth defileth a man; but that which cometh out of the mouth, this defileth a man."
    • Army Veteran
      Your Bible quote is a little misleading in the context it is always presented. 15:11 isn't talking about what a person eats - it's talking about eating with unwashed hands, which was a common practice at the time. I looked it up because I'd always thought the same way as you about this particular passage. But I read the passages before and after (the only way to understand the proper context), and it seems we and everyone else are wrong.
  • i dont see why not, just eat whatever you want
  • Sephardic Jews usually eat rice.
  • In the US, the most widely followed traditional dietary rules for the Passover festival are those which originated in Europe. Basically, no grains, legumes, corn, rice, certain other seeds or starches or oil of those foods are used during the festival period except those prepared as matzo which have not been leavened by contact with moisture for longer than 18 minutes. This is to observe the command in Exodus 12:15 "Seven days shall ye eat unleavened bread." Potatoes are not restricted under these rules.
  • Yes...because I am not Jewish...

Copyright 2023, Wired Ivy, LLC

Answerbag | Terms of Service | Privacy Policy