ANSWERS: 5
  • Yes! Batter-runner over-running first base The proper ruling regarding a batter-runner who overruns first base after receiving a base-on-balls. A batter-runner who is advancing to first base after ball four is treated no different than one who has hit a fair ball except that he cannot be put out BEFORE reaching first base. The ball is live and the runner may advance beyond first at his own risk. The batter-runner in any case; hit or walk, is NOT REQUIRED to turn to the right when returning to first base. The runner is liable to be put out when tagged IF IN THE UMPIRE'S JUDGMENT, the runner MADE AN ATTEMPT to advance to second base. Simply turning to the left into fair territory is NOT automatically an attempt. Rules 6.08(a) and 7.08(c, and j) in the Official Baseball Rules Here's several sites that say they can: Top 40 Baseball Rule Myths 9. The batter may not overrun first base when he gets a base-on-balls. http://www.sibua.com/pages/rule_myths.htm MANAGERS: Did you know that all of these are FALSE? 9. The batter may not overrun first base when he gets a base-on-balls. http://home.san.rr.com/robertgower/Rule%20Myths.htm http://ourworld.compuserve.com/homepages/jbooth/mostfaqs.htm#P4 http://www.baseball-rules.com/mostfaqs.htm#P9 http://216.109.125.130/search/cache?p=The+batter-runner+must+turn+to+his%2Fher+right+after+over-running+first+base.+FALSE&sm=Yahoo%21+Search&fr=FP-tab-web-t&toggle=1&cop=&ei=UTF-8&u=www.officialforum.com/showthread.php%3Fpostid%3D210780&w=batter+runner+must+turn+her+right+after+over+running+first+base+false&d=fvBiP0aqMrZo&icp=1&.intl=us (Look at 1 to 5)
  • Sorry I thought you were talking about the Major Leagues. You can go to the following site that talks about that on High School baseball.. I am still not sure that its not allowed in High School baseball or not. Here's several sites that say they can in other leagues: Top 40 Baseball Rule Myths 9. The batter may not overrun first base when he gets a base-on-balls. http://www.sibua.com/pages/rule_myths.htm MANAGERS: Did you know that all of these are FALSE? 9. The batter may not overrun first base when he gets a base-on-balls. http://home.san.rr.com/robertgower/Rule%20Myths.htm http://ourworld.compuserve.com/homepages/jbooth/mostfaqs.htm#P4 http://www.baseball-rules.com/mostfaqs.htm#P9 http://216.109.125.130/search/cache?p=The+batter-runner+must+turn+to+his%2Fher+right+after+over-running+first+base.+FALSE&sm=Yahoo%21+Search&fr=FP-tab-web-t&toggle=1&cop=&ei=UTF-8&u=www.officialforum.com/showthread.php%3Fpostid%3D210780&w=batter+runner+must+turn+her+right+after+over+running+first+base+false&d=fvBiP0aqMrZo&icp=1&.intl=us (Look at 1 to 5)
  • After reading all the information that you have, I have to agree, a batter/runner who gets a walk CAN overrun first base.
  • The batter cannot be out until he either touches the first base bag, or makes an attempt toward 2nd, in the umpire's opinion.
  • as far as i was taught, you can always overrun first base, but if u even take a half of a step towards second base, you are considered attempting to advance and a walk is still a live ball so only in that situation would the umpire call you out...=o)

Copyright 2020, Wired Ivy, LLC

Answerbag | Terms of Service | Privacy Policy