ANSWERS: 4
  • St. Louis Gateway Arch---- The Jefferson National Expansion Memorial Park was established on the banks of the Mississippi River, on December 21, 1935, to commemorate the westward growth of the United States between 1803 and 1890. The Gateway Arch is known as the "Gateway to the West". It was designed by Finnish-American architect Eero Saarinen and structural engineer Hannskarl Bandel in 1947 and built between 1963 and 1968. It is the only building in the world based on the catenary arch, making it the iconic image of the city. It stands 192.024 metres (630 feet) tall and 192.024 metres (630 feet) wide at its base. The legs are 16.46 metres (54 feet) wide at the base, narrowing to 5.18 metres (17 feet) at the arch. There is a unique tram system to carry passengers to the observation room at the top of the arch.
  • The Jefferson National Expansion Memorial commemorates several things. -The Louisianna Purchase, and the westward movement of explorers and pioneers (why it is also known as the "Gateway to the West") -St. Louis is the 1st civil government west of the Mississippi -The Dred Scott case over slavery was heard at the Old Courthouse directly across from the Arch I've been up inside several times, and in school (and at visits to the Arch) we watched the documentary about it's being built several times.
  • saint louis is considered the gateway to the west. the arch is symbolic of a giant door/portal/gateway. have you been to the top?
  • The Gateway to the west. During a nation-wide competition in 1947-48, architect Eero Saarinen's inspired design for a 630-foot stainless steel arch was chosen as a perfect monument to the spirit of the western pioneers. The Museum of Westward Expansion, located below the Arch, is as large as a football field and contains an extensive collection of artifacts, mounted animal specimens, an authentic American Indian tipi, and an overview of the Lewis and Clark expedition. Located just two blocks west of the Arch, the Old Courthouse is one of the oldest standing buildings in St. Louis, begun in 1839. It was here that the first two trials of the Dred Scott case were held in 1847 and 1850 (Dred Scott sued for his freedom from slavery in the Old Courthouse.) Today, the building houses a museum charting the history of the city of St. Louis and restored courtrooms. These buildings, along with the accompanying grounds, make the total acreage for this park 90.96 acres.

Copyright 2020, Wired Ivy, LLC

Answerbag | Terms of Service | Privacy Policy