• Also, These books were deleted in the last 200 years - 1 Esdras, 2 Esdras, The Book of Tobit, The Book of Susanna, (Additions to) Esther, The Book of Judith, Wisdom of Solomon, Ecclesiasticus, Baruch, The Epistle of Jeremiah, The Prayer of Azariah, Bel and the Dragon, Prayer of Manasses, 1 Maccabees, 2 Maccabees, Book of Enoch, Book of Jubilees, Gospel of Philip, and the Gospel of Mary
      1 Enoch (there are three altogether) and Philip were known to the ancients who compiled the Bible and were rejected by most Christian groups. They were not "deleted in the last 200 years". They were never included in the Bibles of almost all Christians. I can't speak knowledgeably regarding The Gospel of Philip except to say that it does not appear in the Decretum Gelasianum, suggesting that it was already "lost" by the time that the Bibles were first being put together in the fourth century. The same is true of The Gospel of Mary, but it is a Gnostic text and, therefore, was almost certainly intentionally omitted and suppressed in earlier centuries by Christians themselves. So: not so much "lost" as "intentionally eradicated".
      Like Philip: The Gospel of Mary was not known to the fourth-century compilers of the Bible, and so - like Philip - it was never included in the Bible, and certainly not "deleted in the last 200 years".
  • Well...not exactly true. *** #1 *** MOST Christians - by a rather large majority - still include all of those excepting 1 & 2 Esdras in their official Bibles. This includes Catholics and Orthodox in all of their Bibles, as well as most Lutherans, and Anglicans in their **official*** Bibles. *** #2 *** The first-known Bibles to omit those documents (as a group) were Bibles produced by the Puritans in the 1590s. Other Bibles of the time included them. *** #3 *** And, indeed, the 1611 King James Version includes all of them. Here is a link to a scan of a museum copy of the first edition (1611) King James Version table of contents. {{ }} So (point): they were NOT deleted from the Bible since 1611. In fact, until around 1800 most English Bibles continued to include the English Protestant Apocrypha (as listed there in the King James Version). *** #4 *** Then how did the "deletion" happen? The Puritans were a very influential denomination. The English-speakers of many later Protestant denominations adopted the 66-book ("abridged" Puritan) Bible (which, not incidentally, was cheaper to produce than the "with Apocrypha" Bibles.). BUT it was not until about 1800 that 66-book English Bibles became more popular than their larger counterparts.
    • Hulk70156
      Thanks, I didn't know that.
  • Excerpt from an article; "When examining the question of which books were originally included in the Old Testament canon, it is important to note that some of the books of the Bible have been known by more than one name. Sirach is also known as Ecclesiasticus, 1 and 2 Chronicles as 1 and 2 Paralipomenon, Ezra and Nehemiah as 1 and 2 Esdras, and 1 and 2 Samuel with 1 and 2 Kings as 1, 2, 3, and 4 Kings—that is, 1 and 2 Samuel are named 1 and 2 Kings, and 1 and 2 Kings are named 3 and 4 Kings. The history and use of these designations is explained more fully in Scripture reference works." Link to entire article;
    • Hulk70156
      Thank you for increasing my knowledge.
      Dal: all correct information, but one ought to be aware that the 1 & 2 Esdras of the English Protestant Apocrypha - which are the ones mentioned by the question-asker - are NOT the same as Ezra and Nehemiah.
  • Control. Nothing else but control.

Copyright 2020, Wired Ivy, LLC

Answerbag | Terms of Service | Privacy Policy