ANSWERS: 7
  • That is up to you and your new LL. You can make arrangements to move in immediately. Both of you have to agree on the date though.
  • Get on one of the search engines and look up the tenency statutes for New York State. You should be able to find your answer there.
  • If you pay your rent monthly you ususally give a month's notice. Weekly would be a week's notice.
  • Generally it's a month but I would look up the laws there in New York.
  • A tenancy without a lease (which is NEVER a good idea) is considered a month-to-month tenancy. Legally, you need to give 30 days' notice to your landlord so that he or she can have a chance to advertize and lease the place. Likewie, the landlord has to give you 30 days' notice of termination of the lease. If you two agree on some other time range, get it in writing with each of your signatures.
  • http://www.rentalprop.com/apt-assns.htm This is a list of associations that can help you out. Do not listen to any of the past comments... If they are not a lawyer for New York they do not know for certain. I have been a Leasing Specialist for 11 years and have had people give bad advice. In court we have won every time. So contact the association in your area and get your answers there.
    • Pattijo
      And your answer is ?
  • Ask him / her would be your best bet , otherwise I'd say at least the 30 days would be fair .. good question

Copyright 2018, Wired Ivy, LLC

Answerbag | Terms of Service | Privacy Policy