ANSWERS: 3
  • Easy answer. No.
  • Easier answer, yes. An offensive foul counts as a turnover. If you commit a foul while on offense, you turnover the ball.
  • Correct (and easy) answer. YES (at least in the NCAA) SECTION 4—TURNOVERS Article 1. A turnover occurs when a team, after gaining control of the ball or having been entitled to the ball, does not produce a try for goal (field or free) that would count if it goes in, before the opponent either gains control of the ball, is entitled to the ball or scores a goal. (Exception: If the failure to produce a field-goal attempt is due to the expiration of time at the end of the half, game or overtime, then no turnover is charged.) If a single player is judged to be primarily responsible for the turnover, that player is charged with the turnover. If no single player can be judged to be primarily responsible, or if the responsibility rests with anyone not a player, then the team is charged with the turnover. Adams is in control of the ball when (a) Adams travels with the ball, (b) Adams double dribbles, (c) Adams throws the ball from front court into back court, (d) Adams dribbles from front court into back court, (e) Adams commits a player-control foul or (f) Allen commits a foul. RULING: In (a), (b), (c), (d) and (e), charge Adams with a turnover. In (f), charge Allen with a turnover. From the NCAA website http://www.ncaa.org/library/statistical/basketball_stats_manual/2004/2004BasketballStatsMan.pdf

Copyright 2018, Wired Ivy, LLC

Answerbag | Terms of Service | Privacy Policy