ANSWERS: 6
  • Age 13 is generally the accepted age that a child can be left home alone. this is not set in concrete and many factors come into play. Maturity and safety of the child, plays a big part.
  • Laws vary from state to state, some states don't have a law. Additionally, there is a list of questions that you can view to see if your child is ready to be left alone. Some children may be fine for an hour at at 9 some might not be trustworthy for that long at age 17. It all depends on the child.
  • I would say about 13 also, it also depends upon how close others are who could be of assistance, and what type of area you are living in(that'd be safety, too).
  • if you feel the child is mature and responsioble enough a hour or 2 is ok
  • Around here it's 12, legally.
  • The answer is dependent upon the maturity and responsibility level of each child. From a legal perspective, here is some information found on the web. There are very few states in the U.S. with legal minimum ages for children home alone, but many state agencies have published guidelines. Georgia, Illiniois, Maryland and Oregon are a few of the states with specific ages mentioned in their laws. 12 years of age appears to be the most common recommendation. http://www.latchkey-kids.com/latchkey-kids-age-limits.htm provides a state by state comparison with references. This site also provides one guideline from a California agency representative who suggests that 8 year olds and over can be left at home for up to several hours (usually after school before a parent gets home from work).

Copyright 2020, Wired Ivy, LLC

Answerbag | Terms of Service | Privacy Policy